Howdy to a lil’ Holiday DIY SnowGlobe

‘Tis the season of giving, sharing, and- why not?- MAKING!

Snow-glooobes

Wait- it’s the Winter Solstice and it ain’t snowing? And of course, it’s not the same if there are no snowflakes! But do not fret, we can change that up a bit with this simple yet gorgeous DIY I found day before yesterday, but haven’t had the time nor materials to try yet. But here goes anyways.

View the original blog I found this DIY at too, it’s pretty cool =D Plus, you can order a special kit to get all the materials to make this DIY if you want from their site too! Disclaimer- all these photos are from the original blog, Brit+Co, unless otherwise stated.

So, get down with Frosty, and create your own magical winter wonderland, complete with snow in the form of a girl’s best friend, glitter!

Snow-GLobe

I mean, just loook at that spectacular show of shimmer! #EmphasisThroughAlliteration

So let’s get started, now shall we?

Materials-
I Airtight Jar(s)
II Glitter
III A form of SuperGlue (Elfee, or UHU, or E-6000 glue.)
IV Stuff to stick on your jar- like a Christmas Bauble, or other decoration item, like a small tree, or a small figurine, etc.

w640

Step I- Unscrew your jar lid, and glue whatever you will be putting in the snow globe onto it.

w640 (1)

w640 (2)

Press down firmly to make sure it’ll dry securely. Now let it dry properly. To be on the safe side, I’d recommend you to leave it to dry overnight, or to be on the super-safe side, dry for 24 hours. If you’re super giddy to finish the project, then I guess you could shorten the wait to 4 hours, but I’m not sure how well that’d turn out.

Step II- Fill your jar with as much water as possible. Now comes the fun part- adding the glitter! As much as you like, with as many colors as you’d like. Although, you do end up with a snow globe that might have glitter clump in it every now and then. I’ve heard of this tip that’s supposed to fix that up, which is to use hot/warm water in the jar, then use glitter glue instead of glitter as it dissolves in the water more uniformly, yet I haven’t tried this out myself, so I can’t verify whether it works or not. I’ll try this out, then get back to y’all if it does or doesn’t.

w640 (3)

Step III- Shake and enjoy! Have fun making these, and I hope you liked it =D I mean, this is a cute little DIY you could do with kids as a fun little project to lift the holiday spirit, or for those who are homesick without snow this season could be cheered up a bit (I know it worked on me!), and these little guys would make awesome gifts too!

w640 (4)

Just have fun with it, and you can use loads of different stuff instead of tiny Christmas trees. I was thinking of making an Alice in Wonderland themed one myself, honestly. With a lollipop, a peppermint candy cane, and other candies, and a figurine of the Cheshire Cat. I was  thinking of making a Christmasy/Winter Solstice one with Christmas baubles, and plastic snowflake ornaments too. I can’t wait to try this out myself! And soon, I hope!

-Frosty
the cool as hell snowman that brings inspiration to all.

Leave a Reply

