Giving Toradora Another Shot

HeadStructureToradoraPic3

Remember how when I was sick one night, I did a few things for apparently no particular reason? Yeah, well, I did two things that night related to anime.

One, I started watching Bleach. I just did, I don’t know why, Brian the Brain said to =/ So I just…did. Plus, after hearing the opening song, I liked it, and just actually watched the entire first episode.

Two, I rewatched Toradora. I’ve already seen it once, and some of it’s second season, but I really hated it. It was waaay back, in eighth grade, when I started watching loads of anime. So I rewatched it, just like that.

22125

But now, if I think back on it, maybe there was reason behind my doing so, only I didn’t notice until I thought about it later. Or rather, I’m finding or trying to come up with reasonable excuses/reasons to have watched it again if I didn’t like it in the first place.

images (2)

The first time I watched it, I found the animation reaaally cute. And I loved the Pre-Prada theme song =P Buuut after I finished the entire first season, and had seen a few episodes of the next one, I realized why I wasn’t enjoying it much. I was still just waiting for something exciting and unexpected to happen, something unnatural to happen. Something fantastical, something magical, and I knew then that I wasn’t going to get that from this anime, since it’s a completely different genre. That’s when I realized there was no point in wasting my time on something I wasn’t enjoying, and what I was waiting to happen never would. So I dropped it, moved on to more magical and fantasy anime.

Toradora

And now I came back to it. It’s supposed to be a romantic comedy, with a bit of drama…and I was up to giving it another go. Not thrilled about it, but willing to try it again. I wanted to see if my tastes had changed, or if maybe some level of maturity had taken place from the me now and the me in eighth grade who couldn’t stand it.

images (5)

And I did stand it. I watched the entire first season. It’s alright. I’m not in love with the show, but it’s much more tolerable, sometimes amazing, and not nearly as bad as I remembered it. It’s alright, and I’m glad I gave it another chance.

images (3)

 

^Ruiuji

 

images (4)

 

^Kitamarou-kun

Guess I haven’t just changed as a person from back then, but now I’ve apparently changed somewhat in my taste for anime too?

Nah, I guess I’m just more tolerable towards these kinda slow romantic animes now. Before, I couldn’t stand it.

Huh. Guess change just does happen. But no one says that changing is the same thing as growing up, cuz I know THAT ain’t happening for quite a whiiiile~!

toradora-25-01-590x331

And now, just to prove my point, I am going back to watching Beyblade ❤

toradora (1)

*poof*

-Ze

Leave a Reply

