Auditions for the Annual Play

From Yesterday, Thursday, the 16th of January-

Today after school were the Auditions to the annual play my school will be having. Yup, will be. So this is the first one ^_^ Hence the mega excitement =D

So, we had a director called over from Icas, Humzah, and Kamil’s old school where they did their O-levels from. Her name’s Fiza, and she used to be their Literature teacher. Her hair reminds me of Khilji O.o

Now, the auditions were pretty random and all over the place. Like all the things we were told to do. It wasn’t boring like we just had to read out an excerpt from the play itself, or recite a monologue we’d prepared.

First, we were told to walk aimlessly across the auditorium. Then faster, and faster, and faster stiiill till we were nearly running. Then slower, slower, normal pace, then slow motion. Then at normal speed, nod and smile to he who you cross. Then it became, stop and introduce yourself while shaking hands. Some dudes bro hugged or fist bumped, and Ahsen was being all “unique” with his greetings and when I thought he was going for a handshake, he grabbed my hand like you would a lady in the Victorian era, and you a gentleman. And then I could feel him pulling his hand up, with mine too, towards his face- to kiss it?! I don’t know, and I’ll never find out, since the director then changed the exercise to something else, and he dropped my hand. Phew.

But then we had to walk around, and mime out reactions to what the director was narrating. Like she said you’re walking home, it’s a hot summer day. Or you’re bringing home good news to your parents. Or walking through mud. That sort of stuff.

Now, nearly to the classical auditions, she pairs us off and gives us a set scenario. We then had five minutes, more or less, to improvise dialogue to suit that scenario, and give it details, with stage directions, characters, acting, plot, a conclusion, the works.

I got paired off with Zara, and we were given a Maid and Mrs scenario where the two were complaining about their lives to each other. I was the American maid, Sally, working in a British household, with Zara as Mrs. Something Posh I do not Recall.

So, Mrs. Posh summons me, and commands me to brush her hair. I start combing away, and she starts talking about her cheating husband. I ask how she could possibly know that, and she runs off towards the dresser, and pulls out a lipstick that wasn’t hers. “It’s not even my color!” she exclaimed, to which I have both a shocked and confused expression whispering “THAT’s what she’s concerned about?!” to the audience. She then orders me to polish the dusty ol’ dresser, which I rush to do. She then complains about how he only got her sapphires instead of diamonds on this necklace. After that rant, I’m off to shine the silverware. NOW, she snaps at me, mid-rant, “What are you DOING? I thought I told you to comb my lovely locks!!” now I just have this “you’ve-GOT-to-be-kidding-me” expression, and try to say something, but she cuts me off with a “I can do all of this myself, easily! I don’t NEED you. Out, OUT!” and then she storms out of there. I lose my cool, and Sally the American Maid, burst out with a scream, then rushes off stage as soon as she delivers her final line- “You know what, I’m SO done with Britain! You can’t even find a single cup of decent coffee here!”

After which we had the classical auditions start. We were distributed the script, and were told to read out excerpts. I tried out as Alison, this maid with loads of lines, that gets hit on by Giles. (I didn’t know that until I read my last scene. It’s awesome. Just wait.)

I think I did a pretty good job, and I was satisfied with it. Let’s just see if I got the role or not! All I can do is hope >x<

Plus, before auditions the same day, Kamil- the prez of the Theatre Club- asked to sign me up for backstage. I told him, nah, I’ll be auditioning and acting. He said, “Just in case.” -.- “Gee, thanks for the vote of confidence!”

But I did sign up, after auditions xD I signed up for Set since Alya, and MehrNaz were a part of it.

Ayesha was signed up for Backstage Management.

Eeek, I checked my email- they asked for contact information, and I gave my email- and I didn’t get any new mail…

They should’ve sent me something by then, right?! I mean, it was the end of the day, and and they should’ve made up their minds…

Although I don’t think Miss Fiza was too impressed with me =/

Niiice going, Brian, I’m nervous AFTER the actual auditions -.-”

Err, I hope it goes wellllll >~<

Leave a Reply

