My Adventure on Foreign Soil!

I’m making it sound more epic than it actually is. Hey, embassies are considered the soil of the country they belong to, so I’m technically correct. Geez, it needs a touch of dramatic flare, is all.

It was QUICK. They newly introduced an actual appointment system, with ticket numbers like at a fast food place, and it’s so much more efficient and less messy than before. Five years ago, it was on a first come first served basis, and it sucked. I’d have to miss school and stay at the embassy for around six hours just for a ten minute interview, and a few signatures.

We were out of there in an HOUR. And it only took us that long too because the cashier wasn’t in at the time, so we had to wait a bit. Plus, other people were still showing up. I love hour our stereotypical Desi un-punctuality is even influencing an embassy of a foreign nation ❤ It brings a tear to my “dual” national eye :’)

While the first dude was checking out our application for my passport renewal, he was fiddling with the date stamp, and after a while finally stamped 28 July 2014 onto the form. It’s June, bro. My dad politely asked why he’d stamped July, and then realizing his error, fixed it. He also forgot which ink to sign at the bottom of the form in, so it was fixed up professionally with half a black signature that had been finished and rewritten in red ink. Poor guy must’ve been reaaally sleepy, really off his game, or just plain ol’ clumsy. Who knows.

The second dude that conducted my interview (they didn’t have me take a proper oath, but I still had to promise that I hadn’t lied on the forms, with my right hand raised. I hope that’s the closest I ever get to a proper oath too 😛 ) was a gora guy, and he was pretty great at what he was doing with the questions, and answering those my dad asked too.

There was also a stop between these two guys, which was stopping and paying the cashier the fees for the new passport.

We were waiting for the cashier to open shop, and this other family, that came AFTER we did, just stood huddled in front of the station, like they belonged there! I was pretty miffed at their hurry, and their rudeness, especially since they were counting out which ticket holder had to go up to which window. It was hence pretty satisfying when they were asked to move, and our ticket number was called. That aunty’s smug, haughty look was wiped clean of her face then as she shuffled back to take a seat and wait her turn like everyone else. Hah. Justice. #TheTripleA

That’s about it for that. I didn’t get much sleep last night though…even though I went to bed at around 1 am, I didn’t fall asleep until four. And so I’m running on two hours of sleep, and basically sugar and sunlight~

It was fun. We went to Second Cup afterwards, grabbed a bit of coffee, and some other tidbits (double chocolate muffin, a slice of apple pie, a chicken wrap). Ammi of course wasn’t very fond of her coffee. She’d ordered a medium/regular size too! I got a Cuzco, which is this nutty(aw yeah) chocolate-ish (barely) Latin American blend of coffee, apparently. Adding foam milk just made it all the more better ❤ (Ammi used up half the brown sugars we’d been served, so I only got to use two packets 😦 )

Aaaand now I’m home, typing this out, while I load up a Rizzoli & Isles episode ^_^

Hee hee, well, I’m off now 😛

I’ll type out more about Ayesha’s birthday later today, I hope~

Crazy, Chocolate, and Cookies,
-Frostie
the magical as hell snowman. 

 

Leave a Reply

