Lurking in the Library

Just about everyone I know has finals this week, or the next. BUT I DON’T. (I ended a week earlier, so I’m done with those icky exams!) So when my younger sister was told to go study at the library, I decided to tag along. Why? Why the heck not?! It’s a library! To quote Arthur, having fun isn’t hard when you’ve got a library card! And I totally did, so time to go find books~

And so to the book I found! I stumbled across a Doctor Who book. No surprise there. But guess who the author is? Hm? IT’S DOUGLAS ADAMS, AAAH! Yes, the author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy trilogy wrote up, according to the book blurb a book: “based on the scripts for the original television series written by Douglas Adams, Shada tells the lost adventure of Doctor Who that never made it to the screen.”

And I sorta read a third of it right there and then- damn my reading speed TT^TT But besides my epic book find, there was so much going on in that library.

One, as soon as I walked in, I saw the sign that said how the study rooms A through C were open for any students to cram in. And then came the overflow of high schoolers taking up just about every sitting surface in that library! There were so many of them. To be honest, it warmed my heart to see so many people needing to study and knowing that I had zero intent to do that and that I was only there to read for reading’s sake and to enjoy myself. (Let’s ignore how Euler’s equation and sigma particle decay came up in my book.) Ah, it was wonderful. But after I found my book and a sofa to sit in, I actually started paying somewhat attention to the overly loud and zealous high schoolers around me. Ugh, there was this one group of Desis sitting right in front of me that were discussing Bollywood actors and saying their names wrong. Like, COME ON, GUYS. Ugh. They were annoying.

(I also talked to Hibah for a while on my phone and walked around since walk while you talk. #Telenor)

Then the people behind me got kicked out for talking too loudly and eventually these other dimwits showed up. They were discussing having to apply to unis next year and all that, so I’m sure they were juniors. They read off topics from their syllabus- stuff like combustion, metallic bonding, and some sort of reactivity (I zonned out for a bit). But then one of the girls said hey, let’s just focus on one thing at a time and start with something hard. To which they discussed balancing equations. Like, bro, that doesn’t even count as chemistry!! And they genuinely struggled with it. I couldn’t take it anymore and ran to look for more books.

Once they were gone, I came back to my sofa and read some more. But when I realized I was about to finish the book before I even left since I still had another two hours to go, I stopped reading and explored the library. (They had moved the manga shelves and I was determined to find it! Which I did, surprisingly quickly.)

Anyhoo, when it came time to gather my sister and leave, I went to find her, and in the process found some girls that were a year my juniors in high school! Tehreem, Nusrat, and some of their friends were at a table and just chilling. That was the only moment I thought it maybe wasn’t the brightest idea to wear my neon yellow oversized cardigan…(Pun intended.)

Needless to say, I ran for it as soon as I recognized them, and I’m hoping they didn’t see me. I know I didn’t make eye contact with any of them. Now, I wouldn’t have minded saying hi to them, especially as I was leaving anyways, but I know Tehreem has some dholki thing going on for her cousin’s wedding and my cousin told me that she had somehow invited me. And I kinda really don’t wanna go…So if I saw her and she invited me in person, I’d either have to come up with a convincing lie on the spot which I didn’t want to. So I just ran for it instead. Yup.

And that was my library adventure today! Honestly, I can’t wait til tomorrow since I’m going again 😀

-Frostie
the magical as hell snowman

 

 

Leave a Reply

