DRIVING LICENSE ACHIEVED

Achievement unlocked: Driving License acquired.

So the past year and a few months have been rough with me getting a license.

First, I had to wait a few months to get a permit since I was already 17, but I didn’t want to enroll in a drivers ed class. Once I passed and got my permit the first time, I was prepared to learn how to drive from either Barey Ammi or Barey Abu as soooon as possible, but Abu dropped the bomb on me of how I wasn’t allowed to drive their calls for fear I should damage them and he having to pay for repairs -.-” I got to drive them anyways a few times for practise just like that, but never enough to learn how to drive. Ramadan came and went and there was no progress made. Asma got her permit then and learned to drive before me. It was verrryyyyy infuriating.

A year later, Ammi and Abu and the entire family moved here. Abu had the audacity to ask why I hadn’t learned to drive yet and apparently FORGOT he had banned me from learning to drive in the only cars available for me to drive in. GEEZ.

Anyhoo, I started practising every now and then until we got our own van, but Abu wanted me to drive a smaller car for the test and we needed to get a second car anyways, so I started practising on the tinier one once we got it. The bulk of my driving practise was at night during the end of the fall semester and the beginning of the spring one, yet I still haven’t driven in snow yet. Ammi wouldn’t let me.

Finally, the summer vacation started and my morning practise drives were implemented. I was totally ready to drive in real traffic now after my sporadic drives earlier in the spring.

Then the tedious and absolutely infuriating drives down to the stupidest dmv in the world began. I was turned away the first time because I hadn’t taken some stupid drivers ed for adult class that was implemented like two years ago ugh. Had to enroll in that, ugh, it was sooo stupid. But ey, Dale and Hank the master hillbillies of driving signs did make the experience more bearable.

Once that was done with, I waited for the certificate of completion, my proof of passing the class to arrive through email which took a few days (but that was my own fault since I apparently didn’t call them and confirm my email address). Done and done, I showed up at the dmv on Saturday to take the road test.

AND THIS STUPID BIMBO DIDN’T LET ME EVEN GET IN LINE. She turned me away saying “sorry, we’re really full today so even though we’re open, we aren’t taking any road tests today. Come back Tuesday.”(Cuz they’re closed on Mondays too.)

Tuesday comes, and two hours of waiting later, my test happens. And I got failed. EVEN THOUGH I DID NOTHING WRONG. I had stopped at a red light, in the turn right only lane, and checked that there was no oncoming traffic, THEN TURNED. There was no “No turn on red”sign either. But this bandi goes all up you aren’t everrrr allowed to turn on a red blah blah. Screw her.

SO TODAY, Wednesday, I show up and BAM PASS IT FINALLYYYY.

The picture isn’t the greatest, but as you know, I believe in all super important ID pictures turning out terrible always. Regardless of what you do, or how you prepare for it. The only exceptions to this has been my most recent passport picture. The picture would’ve been a-okay awesome if there wasn’t a flash, but there was and once again, I have the shine of brilliance upon my forehead xD It’s definitely not as bad as my last government issued ID so it’s all good. Thankfully, I can put that away now :3

I should drive out and get ice cream now muahahahaha. Jk too broke.

-Frostie
the magical as hell snowman

 

One thought on “DRIVING LICENSE ACHIEVED

Leave a Reply

